Top Ten Best Polytechnics In Nigeria 2017

are several polytechnics in Nigeria, both private and public, which
offers quality education to the ever increasing youth population of our
dear country that is why we have decided to write about the top 10 best
polytechnics in Nigeria. Do read along.
In Nigeria today,
polytechnics are being sought after these days due to the fact that
students have come to understand that quality education can be gotten
there as opposed to the earlier notion that universities are a do or not

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB)
interestingly receives millions of applications each year for admission
into polytechnics these days because no youth wants to sit at home while
their colleagues are gaining admission into schools and making academic
progress in the process.
There are quite a number of good
polytechnics in Nigeria. At least each State in Nigeria has one
Polytechnic to its name. If you’re having a hard time deciding on which
Polytechnic to apply to and you’re looking for top polytechnics in the
country, then, this post should come in handy. In the following
paragraphs, we have given a detailed list of best polytechnics in
Nigeria in 2017.

1. Auchi Polytechnic
This citadel of learning is situated in Edo state, Nigeria. Auchi
polytechnic has produced many top Nigerian scientists, and the school
has is a winner of several national competitions. Auchi Poly won the
Polytechnic Expo in 2008, and in 2012 it came first in the best designs
and fabrications. It was also awarded at the Minna exhibition for its
crafts and woodworks.
The polytechnic was established in 1963 by
the Edo State Government and in 1994, it was taken over by the Federal
Government of Nigeria. Auchi Poly is regarded as the best polytechnic in
Nigeria. It has seven schools which houses several departments.

2. Yaba College of Technology
Yaba College of Technology is situated in Yaba, Lagos State. It is popularly known as YABATECH and it was established in 1947.
YABATECH is a special school. Apart from National Diplomas (ND) and
Higher National Diplomas (HND), it offers B.Sc (Ed) courses in Technical
and Vocational Education and Post Graduates Diploma in Engineering. The
two programmes are run in conjunction with the University of Nigeria,
Nsukka and the Federal University of Technology, Akure. You can also opt
for a part-time study if you won’t be chanced to be a full-time
The majority of YABATECH lecturers are leading professors
in different fields. Students go through the required training and
graduate as well-rounded individuals armed with the necessary skills to
make a it in their chosen fields.

3. Federal Polytechnic, Nekede
The Federal Polytechnic, Nekede is located in Nekede town, close to
Ihiagwa, Imo state. It was established in 1978 as a College of
Technology before it became a Federal Polytechnic in 1993. The school is
touted to have outstanding lecturers who mould young individuals into
bright personalities.
The polytechnic consists of a School of
Engineering Technology, School of Environmental design and Technology,
School of Humanities and Social Sciences, School of Industrial and
Applied Sciences, and School of Business Management Technology
The school places a great premium on innovative research and hands-on
techniques. It offers National Diploma and Higher National Diploma
courses at undergraduate levels.

4. The Polytechnic, Ibadan
The Polytechnic, Ibadan is also known as POLYIBADAN. The main campus of
this school is located just beside the University of Ibadan, UI. Both
tertiary institutions actually share a common gate. POLYIBADAN had four
other satellite campuses and they now stand on their own, having evolved
into standalone polytechnics.
The polytechnic was originally
created in 1970 as a successor to the Technical College, Ibadan. Since
1975 it has been operating on a faculty system.

5. Lagos State Polytechnic
Lagos State Polytechnic is also known as LASPOTECH. It is owned by the
Lagos State Government and it is situated in Ikeja, the Lagos State
Capital. LASPOTECH has several schools to study at and they include
Agriculture, Engineering, Management and Business Studies, Pure and
Applied Sciences, etc.

6. Osun State Polytechnic
The Osun state polytechnic was second to Auchi polytechnic in the past
but has lost that position now. Nevertheless, it is still rated high
amongst others.
The institution is located in Iree, and was
formerly a satellite campus of the polytechnic, Ibadan. It became an
autonomous institution on the 12th of October 1992. It also has a daily
part time program which it runs at its Koko campus.
polytechnic has seven faculties which contains several departments from
which one can choose a desired course of study- Information and
Communication, Engineering, Financial Studies, Environmental Studies,
Management Studies, Basic Sciences, and Sciences.

7. Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro
This polytechnic has modern infrastructures which support students’
academic progress. It also has a modern library and a students’ office
where students can find answers to questions regarding their academic
lives. It is situated in Ilaro, Ogun State.

8. Imo State Polytechnic, Umuagwo
The Imo state polytechnic was established in 1978 as Michael Okpara
College of Agriculture. However, in 2007, it was elevated to the status
of Polytechnic. It is located in Umuagwo, Ohaji/Egbema LGA, Imo State.
The polytechnic provides courses, training and research in all branches
of Agriculture, Management Sciences, Engineering and Food Sciences. It
is also certified to award National Diploma and Higher National Diploma
certificates to its graduates.
It has a flexible academic schedule and students who can’t study full-time can opt to go to classes during the weekends.

9. Federal Polytechnic, Oko
The federal polytechnic Oko has a rich academic atmosphere which is
exciting and exhilarating at the same time. It was approved by the
Anambra State Government as a College of Arts and Science in 1979 and
was upgraded to a College of Arts, Science and Technology in June, 1980.
It got approved as a federal polytechnic in 1993.
The polytechnic has a main campus at Oko and there are two other
campuses at Ufuma and Atani. The school has a vibrant social life too.
There are 8 schools from which to choose a course of study from.

10. Kaduna Polytechnic
Also known as KADPOLY, this Polytechnic is located in Tudun Wanda LGA,
Kaduna state. It was established in 1956. There are 5 colleges from
which to choose a course of study. This includes the College of Business
& Management Studies (CBMS), College of Environmental Studies
(CES), College of Engineering (COE), College of Science and Technology
(CST), and the College of Administrative Studies and Social Sciences
(CASSS). It offers ND and HND undergraduate programs.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *