About The Headies Awards. {Nigeria’s Biggest Music Awards}



The Headies (formerly known as the Hip Hop World Awards) are an accolade established in 2006 by the Hip Hop World Magazine of Nigeria to recognize outstanding achievement in the Nigerian music industry.
The popular,loved and consistent music awards is now known to be Nigeria’s Biggest music award as it has become a thing every artiste wants to win each year.


The Headies since debuting in 2006 has become one of the most anticipated events year in year out. Today, the Awards ceremony is the biggest award ceremony in the country. Within the space of six years it has cemented itself as the authentic awards’ brand and has continued to deliver an annual awards ceremony that has never failed to dazzle, inspire, excite and entertain. In Nigeria’s entertainment calendar, the date for the Hip Hop World Awards is one of the most anticipated, if not the most important.

Conceived to reward artistes with genuine artistic talent in a developing music industry, The Headies debuted on March 10, 2006 at the MUSON Centre Onikan, Lagos. Tagged “The revolution is here”, the event was hosted by Darey Art Alade and left many spell bound and dazzled by the sheer brilliance and glamour of the event. It was the first time that an awards ceremony of international standard was organized in its entirety by Nigerians. Everything about the awards was a first; from the limousine rides, the red carpet, the stage to the well choreographed and rehearsed performances.

In 2007, the theme of the awards in 2007 was “The Best Gets Better”. Hosted by Tana and Dbanj, the event took place at the MUSON Centre Onikan, Lagos. When people were still savoring the taste of Hip Hop World Awards 2007, the 2008 edition of the awards came and totally changed the platform on which awards were organized. Going with the theme “Change has to Change”, Hip Hop World Awards 2008 took it to a whole different level starting from the nominees’ party which was held at the private beach resort, Babylon to the venue of the awards which was moved from the MUSON Centre to Planet 1. The plaque also known as Headie was now 21 carat gold plated.

The 2008 edition was hosted by Basket Mouth and Dakore Egbuson. The synergy was one of a kind which laid the foundation for the highly entertaining night. The event was spiced up with performances from Naeto C, Rooftop MCs, Cobhams, Kween, Jo’zi, P-Square and others. Going a step further, a car was awarded to the winner of the Next Rated category (Wande Coal). This was another pioneering feat by Hip Hop World Awards.

In 2009, Hip Hop World Awards went totally out of the box and stretched the boundaries of awards planning and organization. The nominees’ party was taken out of the cliché club and beach resort venues to a village in Ogun state called Ajibogun. The event saw the nominees and guests dressed in their native attire, eating local cuisine and dancing to the latest songs with mud houses serving as a backdrop. It was indeed a first of its kind.

When it came to the awards proper, HHWA challenged the ‘Lagos mentality’. For the first time in the history of the awards, it took place outside the commercial nerve centre and was organized in the city of Abuja. Guests, nominees and presenters were flown and lodged for the event which was tagged ‘A Prize To Die For’. The venue for the ceremony was the International Conference Centre which was befitting for an event of HHWA’s high standards. The event had Banky W and Kemi Adetiba serving as hosts, having spent some time together in Brazil tieing social bonds. The night was a colourful mix of elegance, style, panache and razzmatazz with artistes strutting on the dazzling Yellow carpet in their bespoke outfits. And just like in 2008, a brand new car- KIA Optima- was presented to Omawumi, the winner of the Next Rated category.

In 2010, the trailblazing pace continued. The unveiling of the HHWA 2010 nominees list was streamed live on the internet which was watched the world over. The awards proper was dedicated to late rapper Dagrin.


  • Best R&B Single
  • Best Rap Single
  • Best Pop Single
  • Best R&B/Pop Album
  • Best Rap Album
  • Best Street Hop Artiste
  • Best Collaboration
  • Lyricist on the Roll
  • Best Vocal Performance (Female)
  • Best Vocal Performance (Male)

  • Next Rated
  • Best Recording of the Year
  • Hip Hop World Revelation of the Year
  • Producer of the Year
  • Song of the Year
  • Album of the Year
  • Rookie of the Year
  • Artiste of the Year
  • African Artiste of the Year
  • Best Music Video Director
  • Hall of Fame

The Headies ”Next Rated” AWARD

This is the most special and most loved category in the award show as every new artist in the industry aspires to win. The Next Rated category is a category for new and promising artists in the music industry a category which is won by the most talented and hardworking new artist of the year, the award has been won by many super star musicians in the Nigerian music industry today.
The award comes with a prize after winning, the Prize which is always a vehicle making headies the only award show who does that in Africa and maybe in the whole world.

The following is a list of The Headies winners and nominees for Next Rated. Winners of this category are presented with a vehicle every year. Sean Tizzle was awarded a Hyundai Tucson for winning this category in 2013. In 2011, Wizkid won this category and took home a Hyundai Sonata and that is how every artist who won the Next Rated award each year goes home with a car.




2O13  Next Rated: Sean Tizzle

2012   Next Rated – Davido

2011   NEXT RATED: Wizkid

2010   Next rated – Skuki

2009  Next Rated- Omawumi

2008  Next rated – Wande Coal


9 Mode 9 Lyricist on the Roll (7), Best Rap Album, Best Rap Single
7 P-Square Best R&B/Pop Album (2), Album of the Year (2), Song of the Year, Artiste of the Year
Wande Coal Next Rated, Album of the Year, Artiste of the Year, Best R&B/Pop Album, Hip Hop World Revelation of the Year, Best Vocal Performance (Male)
8 2 Face Idibia Best R&B/Pop Album (2), Album of the Year, Artiste of the Year, Best Pop Single, Special Recognition Award
5 M.I Best Rap Album (2), Best Rap Single, Hip Hop World Revelation of the Year, Best Collaboration
5 9ice Best Vocal Performance (Male), Artiste of the Year, Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Best R&B/Pop Album
5 Jude Okoye Best Music Video Director (5)
4 D’banj Song of the Year (2), Hip Hop World Revelation of the Year, Artiste of the Year
4 Aṣa Next Rated, Best Recording of the Year, Best Female Vocal Performance, Album of the Year
4 Darey Best R&B Single (2), Best Vocal Performance (Male), Best Recording of the Year
3 Wizkid Artiste of the Year, Next Rated, Hip Hop World Revelation of the Year
3 Ice Prince Best Rap Album, Song of the Year, Best Rap Single
6 Olamide Best Street Hop Artiste, Best Rap Album, Album of the Year
4 Davido Next Rated, Best R&B/Pop Album, Hip Hop World Revelation of the Year
3 Timaya Best Reggae/Dancehall Album (2), Best Collaboration (with Kefee)



Next Rated Winner SEAN TIZZLE


             WATCH OUT FOR HEADIES AWARDS 2016! 

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *